Running, Babies, and More Running

I was a runner for about eight years when we found out that we were going to have a baby.  Before the pregnancy, I ran to stay in shape and so that i could eat whatever I wanted.  I often ran on the treadmill at Total Fitness with my earphones on and the remote control in my hand.  I trained for 5K’s, 10K’s, Half marathons, and even full Marathons.  Spending 20 miles on a treadmill on a Sunday morning is not everyone’s idea of fun, but I just loved it.

During my pregnancy, I was determined to stay in decent shape, even against my doctor’s suggestions. I did two triathlons before I was  three months along, a 10k at four months, and the Turkey Trot 5 miler at 6 months.  After the Turkey Trot, I was ready to become a walker.  My knees were starting to hurt, and my belly was uncomfortable to run with.  Becoming a walker was hard for me because I was used to going a little faster.  Instead of running 3 miles in 24 minutes, it was taking me 45 mintues.  But I kept at it until the day before the baby was born.

It was just about 16 months ago when our little munchkin, Cher, greeted the world.  It was February 22, and I had already signed up for a 10K race on May 1.  Having an unexpected C-section put a little crick in my plan since I was actually going to listen to my doctor and not do any running for six weeks.  That only gave me about four weeks to train for the 10K.    When I was allowed to run again, I was on the treadmill each day, slowly at first, inching ever faster by the day.  I ran that darn 10K in under an hour in the pouring, pouring rain.  Not even close to my 45 minute PR, I kept wondering how I was ever going to get back to the speeds and distances that I used to run.  I knew it would take time.  I knew that I would have to work hard.  I knew that it might not be fun.

Everyone tells you that a baby will change your life.  It definitley does.   But I tell you something, I love my life.  My husband and I have incorporated our little pumpkin into our weekly runs.  Sometimes he will push the stroller.  Sometimes, I run on the treadmill at our house during her nap.  We make it work.

I wondered how I would ever have the time to go out and train for a half marathon again.  I wondered if I would ever get back to my pre-baby pace.  I wonder, I wonder, I wonder.

But I don’t have to wonder anymore.   Because of Team G(race), I was able to run those long distances again.  Because of Team G(race) I ran a pretty darn good 5k this morning.  (not quite my old pace but only a couple seconds off.)

I am so thankful for Team G(race) and all the people involved.  Brett has all kinds of big ideas, but Team G(race) is my favorite one yet!   Thanks to all of you who are a part of TG….it has truly been a great experience for me.   I love running with all of you.  But most of all, I love watching you meet your goals.    I am excited to start training for our next race in the fall!!

See you soon!
Cynde

3 thoughts on “Running, Babies, and More Running

  1. Great story, Cynde! Team G(race) definitely was a GREAT experience for us, too. I love following you guys on this website and who knows, your “Springfield Connection” may join you on a couple of your long runs! Keep on running!

  2. Pingback: My Legacy: A Reflection on Father’s Day | Team G(race) Troy

Leave a Reply

