My Birthday Wish

It’s starting to sink in. I have only a few days left before the 30s are behind me. Turning 40 can mean a lot of things to different people. One result of being 40 is now I will be in a different age group in most races, though I am rarely in contention for age group awards anyway. From the standpoint of my overall level of fitness, I feel younger now than when I turned 30, and therefore, I think that has helped me mentally accept turning 40.

When I think back over the past 10 years, since the major milestone of turning 30, there are so many important and memorable events, too numerous to name them all. Number one on the list, without question, was the birth of my daughter. Raising a child is one of the hardest yet most rewarding things in life. Nothing compares to it. Other events or accomplishments that stand out are the growth and expansion of the World Race for Hope, running my first marathon, training for and achieving my goal of a sub-2:00 half marathon, forming this nonproft running team, raising money for a cause and gaining new friendships as a result, and getting to meet and hang out with Kristin Armstrong when she visited Troy in 2010. This year marks another running-related milestone for me: it’s my 10th year of running. When I started running in 2003, I had run a few 5k’s in my life, and had dabbled in trying to make running a part of my life, but it wasn’t until a few friends and I at work started training together and participating in local races together that I became a runner. After running together for about a year, we ran the 4 person relay at the Flying Pig, our first big race experience, and I was addicted.

While I certainly have some specific goals for the next 10 years, my simple wish for my birthday is to continue to make a positive impact in peoples’ lives, notably my family, friends and people who are hurting, have little hope or can’t escape the chains that are preventing them from freedom and happiness. I feel blessed that each year continues to be better than the previous, so in the aggregate, the next 10 years will be the most impactful period of my life ever.

======================

I am still $70 away from my fundraising goal for Eli, the 2 year old who is battling leukemia, for whom we have dedicated our 2012 training and fundraising. If you can donate any amount, you can help Team G(race) get closer to our overall goal. Part of our fundraising proceeds will go toward Eli’s medical expenses, and part will go to CureSearch, a leading children’s cancer research charity. You can donate online, fast and securely, here: teamgrace2012.kintera.org/bdbogan.

Leave a Reply

