2013 Goals

When it comes to resolutions for the new year, I don’t have strong feelings about them one way or the other. Although I do tend to think about what changes do I want to make as we enter a new year, I tend to agree with LV Runs NYC and her recent post when she stated:

There’s nothing about the calendar hitting January 1 that drives me to make changes. When I see fit, I change. When I need to, I change. And, when I’ve a big goal to reach, I make changes to make it a reality.

However, I do think January is a great time to re-evaluate goals, start fresh with a clean slate, and develop a plan to achieve your goals. Although I have fallen short of some of my running goals the last few years, I constantly remind myself how blessed I am being able to run, having the freedom to run, and being surrounded by supportive family and great running friends.

For me, I establish running goals to push myself to get better, to provide motivation to keep doing what I truly love. It is so easy to get distracted by everything else going on in life that sometimes you lose the motivation to do what you love. By having goals that are written down (important!), and tracking my progress against those goals, I have not had a problem with staying motivated, even when the temperature feels like 12 degrees, like it did this morning when I went out to run a few miles.

Here are my 2013 goals related to running and fitness:

  • Participate in a Relay Race – Ragnar Florida Keys, Jan. 2013DONE
  • Run a minimum of 100 miles per month
  • Run at least 1 full marathon, and 3 half marathons
  • Run a 2 hour half (it’s been awhile since my last sub-2)
  • (low priority) Check off another state from my list – this is a goal every year
  • Start training to my heart rate instead of min/mile.
  • Add core workouts to my weekly routine

The one that will be most challenging I think is the 2nd goal, running a minimum of 100 miles per month. Every year, I have a couple of low mileage months, around 60-70 miles. Despite surpassing 1,000 miles each of the last three years, when I look at those low mileage months, I feel like I underperformed to an extent. Halfway through the first month of the year, and I’m going to have to start increasing my mileage these last two weeks to hit 100. Off to a stellar start! 🙂

What are your running goals in 2013?

Leave a Reply

