Columbus Marathon 2013

I completed my 25th half marathon since I started running in 2003 last weekend in Columbus. I essentially took a month of from running in September due to a severely sprained ankle, so when I did half marathon #24 in Cleveland at the beginning of the month, my conditioning level wasn’t prepared for the hills and the humidity. Two weeks later, the conditions in Columbus were much better, and I took 20 minutes off my personal worst time that I registered in Cleveland. Still, I was 15 minutes slower than my first half of 2013, which was back in April. No more major races this year, just fun races. I’m going to slowly build my mileage back up, but I plan to just enjoy the last few holiday-themed races left in 2013.

According to my race and training log, this was the fifth time I have run in the Columbus Marathon, although it seems like I’ve done more (2 fulls, 3 halves). There were a couple of years when I did the Chicago Marathon, and it was just too close to Columbus to run both. I love the Columbus Marathon, and I would consider running it every year. The first 13.1 miles is fairly flat, with great crowd support. The second half has a little more elevation, but there are some neat sections of the course, like running through Ohio Stadium. It’s a great race for first time half or full marathoners, and it’s a great race to try to BQ. Speaking of which, we had several people who run with the team fall into one of those two categories. We had a few first time marathoners, and they did fantastic in finishing their first full! And we had 3 runners get Boston Qualifying times. I’m looking forward to going to Boston in 2015 to cheer them on.

A collection of pictures from Columbus Marathon weekend.

Leave a Reply

